Karamu House has new COVID-19 guidelines for all visitors. Click here for full COVID-19 guidelines.

Joyful, a Karamu Holiday Celebration

Thursday, December 10, 2020 - Sunday, January 10, 2021

A Special Karamu Holiday Celebration

Bringing together some of the season's favorite songs, new and old, and with festive songs and styles from around the world, Karamu House brings an hour of song and dance into your living room this holiday season! 

While the doors to our theatre remain closed to the public, Karamu House is still a place of joyful gathering. So, this year, Karamu brings that place of joyful gathering into your homes, instead.

You're invited to unplug from social media, turn off the news, and just sit back and relax – and let Karamu House's talented singers, dancers and performers bring you joy with a special concert that celebrates this festive time of year. 

 

NOW AVAILABLE, you can watch Joyful with your entire household. Each ticket ($24.99) gives you the opportunity to stream Joyful on your favorite device, at any time of the day, in the comfort of your own home. Once started, you'll have 48 hours to finish watching the show. It's that simple. Joyful will be available for access until January 9, 2021.

 

Interested in gifting a ticket to Joyful? Purchase a gift card, and we'll take care of the rest.

 

FEATURING

Michele Edwards
 
Darelle Hill
 
Christina JohnsonChristina Johnson
 
Jacob Johnson
 
Mary Frances R. Miller
                 
Joshua McElroy
 

CorLesia Crysel Smith
           
                 

ALSO FEATURING

Lexy Lattimore, Solo Dancer
Rashawn Kadeem, Dancer 
RonDale J. Simpson, Dancer
Kailyn Mack, Dancer
Marissa Thomas, Dancer

                 

MUSICIANS

Dr. David M. Thomas, Musical Director
Christopher Burge, Saxophone
Kevin Byous, Guitar
Wayne A. Deadwiley, Bass Guitar
Le'Quan Grayson, Solo Drummer
Scott McKee, Trumpet
Nolan Plunkett, Trombone
Edward Ridley, Jr., Keyboard
Deion Williams, Drums           

                 

PRODUCTION TEAM

Tony F. Sias, Director
Rob Wachala, Lighting Designer
Richard Ingraham, Sound Designer
T. Paul Lowry, Set & Multimedia Designer
Tom West, Assistant Multimedia Designer
Inda Blatch-Geib, Costume Designer
Treva Offutt, Choreographer
Brielle McGrew, Wardrobe Supervisor
Auri Crowley, Sound Assistant
Tyree Franklin, Stage Manager
Prophet D. Seay, Technical Director
Vonetta Flowers, Director of Production 

 

Video produced by Wonderhouse Films.

 

 

 

Ticket Rates:

ON-DEMAND HD ACCESS (2-Day Rental) $24.99
Buy On-Demand Access

Showtimes

Thursday, December 10 2020
Friday, December 11 2020
Saturday, December 12 2020
Sunday, December 13 2020
Monday, December 14 2020
Tuesday, December 15 2020
Wednesday, December 16 2020
Thursday, December 17 2020
Friday, December 18 2020
Saturday, December 19 2020
Sunday, December 20 2020
Monday, December 21 2020
Tuesday, December 22 2020
Wednesday, December 23 2020
Thursday, December 24 2020
Friday, December 25 2020
Saturday, December 26 2020
Sunday, December 27 2020
Monday, December 28 2020
Tuesday, December 29 2020
Wednesday, December 30 2020
Thursday, December 31 2020
Friday, January 1 2021
Saturday, January 2 2021
Sunday, January 3 2021
Monday, January 4 2021
Tuesday, January 5 2021
Wednesday, January 6 2021
Thursday, January 7 2021
Friday, January 8 2021
Saturday, January 9 2021

More Upcoming Shows

God is Anti-racist (GiA-r), composition no. 1

August Wilson’s Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Langston Hughes' Black Nativity

Join our email list, and you’ll
receive 10% off for our online gift shop.

testing submit errors

Thank you, but not at this time.