Karamu House has new COVID-19 guidelines for all visitors. Click here for full COVID-19 guidelines.

God is Anti-racist (GiA-r), composition no. 1

Friday, September 10, 2021 - Friday, October 22, 2021

An Art Exhibit by Amanda D. King in the George L. Forbes Gallery

ABOUT THE EXHIBIT + ARTIST

Amanda D. King is a visual artist, social justice advocate, and creative director. Her debut, solo exhibition, God is Anti-racist (GiA-r), composition no. 1, will be displayed in the George L. Forbes Gallery at Karamu House from September 10 - October 22, 2021.
 

God is Anti-racist, composition no. 1 consists of screen prints, textile, photography, text art, and ready-made sculpture. The exhibition moves through stages of lamentation, crucifixion, resurrection, and baptism. King’s creative process is informed by Black Liberation Theology, spiritual practice, and cultural mythmaking.

 

The Gallery will be open Monday - Friday, 11 a.m. - 4 p.m. On Wednesday, hours are extended until 7 p.m. No tickets or registration is required; however, COVID-19 rules still apply.

 

To learn more about Amanda, visit amandadking.com

 

 

 

Presented by the Timothy L. Stephens, III Memorial Family Fund of The Cleveland Foundation, Drs. Amy and Susan Stephens, Trustees
The exhibition is made possible through the generous support of SPACES Urgent Art Fund, the Ohio Arts Council, Zygote Press, Cuyahoga Arts and Culture, and the Timothy L. Stephens III, Memorial Family Fund of the Cleveland Foundation.

Showtimes

Friday, September 10 2021
Monday, September 13 2021
Tuesday, September 14 2021
Wednesday, September 15 2021
Thursday, September 16 2021
Friday, September 17 2021
Monday, September 20 2021
Tuesday, September 21 2021
Wednesday, September 22 2021
Thursday, September 23 2021
Friday, September 24 2021
Monday, September 27 2021
Tuesday, September 28 2021
Wednesday, September 29 2021
Thursday, September 30 2021
Friday, October 1 2021
Monday, October 4 2021
Tuesday, October 5 2021
Wednesday, October 6 2021
Thursday, October 7 2021
Friday, October 8 2021
Monday, October 11 2021
Tuesday, October 12 2021
Wednesday, October 13 2021
Thursday, October 14 2021
Friday, October 15 2021
Monday, October 18 2021
Tuesday, October 19 2021
Wednesday, October 20 2021
Thursday, October 21 2021
Friday, October 22 2021

More Upcoming Shows

Langston Hughes' Black Nativity

Katori Hall's The Mountaintop

Keith Hamilton Cobb's American Moor

Join our email list, and you’ll
receive 10% off for our online gift shop.

testing submit errors

Thank you, but not at this time.